Being injured in a car accident can be a stressful and overwhelming experience. After a crash, it’s essential to get a copy of every document related to your crash, including your Georgia State Patrol accident report.
Here, we will explain what a crash report is, why it’s crucial to have, and how to get a copy.
Jump to: Get the details of your report
What is a Georgia State Patrol Accident Report?
The reporting officer called to the scene of the crash creates an official report about the accident. The documented evidence from the crash and the amount of damage, including injuries and vehicular damage.
The officer who makes this report typically gives you the other driver’s insurance information and accident report number.
You can use this information to report it to your insurance company and get your accident report.
If you have to leave the scene of the crash for any reason, make sure to get this information from someone else.
If you can’t get this information, call or visit a Georgia State Patrol troop station as soon as possible.
Get Your Accident Report Online
You can get a copy of your Georgia State Patrol Crash Report online at www.BuyCrash.com. Reports cost $5 each, and they are available 7-10 days after the accident.
To get your accident report, you’ll need the following information:
- The last name of one of the people in the crash;
- The date of the accident; and
- The VIN of one of the cars involved, the accident report number, or the driver’s license of one of the people in the crash.
This is the easiest way to get your crash report.
Need Help on Getting the Details of Your Car Accident? Fill Out the Form Below
You can also ask to pick up a copy of your Georgia State Patrol accident report in person.
To do so, visit or call the nearest troop location or the State Patrol’s Open Records Unit.
Click here to see a list of all troop locations and contact information if you are unsure where the nearest one is.
When you go to pick up your report, make sure to fill out this form and bring it to the station with you.
Remember to bring a valid driver/s license or another type of personal identification to pick up your report.
According to Georgia’s Open Records Act, only parties involved in the crash or the lawyers of those parties can request an accident report.
Be sure to ask your Georgia car accident attorney if you have the legal authority to request a report.
Contact a Georgia Car Accident Attorney Today
If you were the victim of an accident in Georgia that as caused by someone else’s carelessness, you might be able to get compensation.
To learn more about your rights in an accident, contact a Georgia car accident lawyer.
At Pritchard Injury Law, our priority is to help you through this confusing process. Contact our firm today to speak with our compassionate and experienced car accident lawyer, Zach Pritchard.
He will answer any questions you might have about getting your police report or pursuing a personal injury claim.